23 October 2019
How to Eat Keto, Plant-Based & Gluten-Free Meals in Marrakech
To err on one’s diet while travelling is human. When a person leaves the comfort of their home town and travels abroad, they’ll likely encounter tasty yet “forbidden” foods and inadvertently gobble them up. This can be serious for those who are sensitive or allergic to those foods.
With that said, before visiting a Marrakech restaurant, you should know what menu options are available to avoid committing any diet sins abroad. We’ll focus on some of the more en vogue diets, namely: gluten-free diet, keto-friendly, plant-based diet and paleo-based diets.
Gluten-Free Foods to Try at a Marrakech Restaurant
Gluten-free diets can be tricky due to risks of gluten cross-contamination. A good example of this is when oats, naturally gluten-free grain, is laced with wheat gains because of it being processed in the same facility.
It goes without saying that this is a major problem for those who have gluten intolerance or a full-blown gluten allergy. Fortunately, you can visit a Marrakech restaurant without having to skip the menu altogether or risk eating an offending item.
Wheat/Gluten-Free Marrakech Food
- Chermoula – Although it’s not a dish itself, this marinade which is used to dress fish and seafood contains garlic, cumin, coriander oil, lemon juice and salt. Other variations include spices such as saffron, paprika, cayenne and parsley.
- Kefta – Sometimes referred to as kebab, kefta is essentially a meatball made with minced beef (or lamb) and seasoned with onions, paprika, cumin, coriander and parsley. Chefs will occasionally add cayenne pepper or mint. The way kefta is served can differ too – it may be grilled and served on a skewer or added to a tagine or sandwich.
- Tangia – This is not the same thing as tagine (even if the names are similar). Tangia is a slow-cooked stew seasoned with a rich array of spices including saffron, cumin, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Lemon and garlic are also added to balance the taste of Tangia. Since it’s usually made with lamb or beef, Tangia is generally gluten-free.
Now keep in mind that it’s customary for Moroccan meals to come with bread. Of course, flatbread is not gluten-free, as it is made with wheat, so it makes sense to avoid it altogether.
Other Gluten-Free Marrakech Food: Zaalouk, Omelettes, Harissa.
Keto-Friendly Foods to Try at a Marrakech Restaurant
It may come as no surprise that the keto diet was the most popular diet of 2018. Just about everyone knows at least one person, at present, who’s doing keto. This fat-dominant, carb-depleted assortment of foods has been touted as the most effective way to blast fat and boost energy due to the process of ketosis.
It’s not for everyone and whether it works for one person or another depends on a multitude of factors. However, for those who are dedicated to the keto diet and about to visit Marrakech, there are several menu options to try.
Keto-Friendly Marrakech Food
- Mixed Mechoui – Considering the fact that a keto-dieter should be eating 70-75% fat, then mixed mechoui is a prime choice. Mixed mechoui is a fatty rack of lamb that’s seasoned with salt, pepper, cumin and ginger and is cooked until the fat is tender.
- Braniya – Braniya is a tagine, often served with beef or lamb and is often made with eggplant. Of course, braniya can be prepared with different vegetables.
- Moroccan Zucchini Salad – Marrakech restaurant menus abound with vegetable dishes. With that said, Moroccan zucchini salad is a favourite. It’s rich in flavour and is a great substitute for keto dieters who aren’t huge veggie fans.
Other Keto-Friendly Foods to Try in Marrakech: Fish tajine, Boulfaf (grilled lamb liver), Moroccan spiced olive dish.
Plant-Based Food Options to Try at a Marrakech Restaurant
Plant-based diets are easy to follow in theory, because the options are set in stone – you can eat fruits, vegetables, nuts, legumes and seeds but no animal products. Of course, sustaining willpower on a plant-based diet is challenging, especially for people who have abandoned their carnivorous tendencies. Nevertheless, finding a plant-based dish at a Marrakech restaurant can be a cakewalk for those who are committed.
Plant-Based Marrakech Food
- Cherchma – This traditional dish consists of mixed beans and lentils in a Moroccan spiced sauce, and served with whole wheat couscous. It’s a great meal to satisfy your tastebuds for those zesty flavours you love while getting protein from a non-animal source.
- Tempura vegetables – Sometimes eating a plate of veggies, by itself, is bland and boring. A tempura vegetable dish is a great way to mix things it up. The platter comes with crispy battered seasonal vegetables served with a sweet chilli sauce.
- Berkoukesh – Still can’t do without your pasta? If so, you’ll want to try Berkoukesh at a Moroccan restaurant. This dish is a handmade Moroccan pasta that’s garnished with a fresh herb and tomato sauce.
Other Plant-Based Foods to Try at a Marrakech Restaurant: Moroccan Red Lentil Soup, Moroccan vegetable and chickpea stews.
A Meal for Everyone in Marrakech
No matter what diet you follow, you will find flavourful and aromatic meals that will satisfy your tastebuds and have you asking for more. It’s no doubt challenging trying to maintain a strict diet when you travel abroad, but the city of Marrakech won’t be a place where you have to compromise your diet.
At our Le Trou Au Mur restaurant, we serve meals that cater to all four of the diets mentioned in this article (and more). In fact, you can find many of the above-mentioned dishes on our diverse menu. So if you’re worried about eating the wrong things in Marrakech, don’t fret – once you land in the Red City, you’ll be in (our) good hands!← Back to all posts